Why is Texas in the background of Eddie Murray’s rookie card?

1978 Kellogg’s, Eddie Murray Card Image

I was utterly enamored when the 1978 Kellogg’s Eddie (Clarence) Murray rookie card arrived in the mail today. That lesser known moniker was one of the first details that struck me, as strangely I do not recall ever noticing his middle name before; however, I must have seen it at some point, since I was a self-professed Eddie Murray “fan” going back to second grade when I wrote an essay (though I doubt it really qualified as such for my dismayed English teacher) about the star Orioles hitter. Funny thing about that little school paper: my Mom was initially so perplexed as to why in the world her six-year-old son wanted to write about a rather age-inappropriate, late-night television comedian. Oh, Mother.

But to return to this exquisite cereal box artifact. . . . Well, it’s just absolutely stunning, especially if it’s your first close encounter with one of these vintage “3-D” Kellogg’s cards. And I truly doubt whether even a hi-resolution scan can quite do this specimen justice. After well over thirty years, the front image still vibrantly pops–so much that when tilted the image of the state of Texas discernibly floats just above Eddie’s turned back high up on a stadium wall. If the background was indeed part of the original photo, then I can only guess that it was taken before some regularly scheduled Baltimore and Texas game. If the background was subsequently placed in during the card layout or design process, however, then it must have been some kind of editorial error or oversight. (Question: do baseball card producers really have “editors,” or are they given some other staff title, like “designated copy writer”?)

But full disclosure: I’m really not the most observant individual at times, and it was only when I with childlike, goofy pride presented the card to my wife that she pointed out this rather quirky anomaly for my (and now your) edification.

Leave a Reply

