Robert Redford fantasy Goudey card

Roy Hobbs g

This morning I considered making my own Robert Redford fantasy Goudey card. I felt inspired because I saw The Natural for the first time last night from start to finish.

I had often watched bits & pieces of the 1984 Barry Levinson classic, but I had never before seen the seminal, opening twenty minutes. The film was playing on some Goliathan, commercial-heavy network yesterday, likely as some unsavory effort to capitalize on news of the recent death of Ruth Ann Steinhagen, who quietly passed away in December of 2012. (However, I suppose the broadcast could also simply be due to the fact that the baseball season is about to begin.) Steinhagen was of the course the mentally unstable fan and femme fatale of sorts who shot Philadelphia Phillies first baseman Ed Waitkus–events that thus inspired the story of The Natural.

In any case, I toyed around with the idea of creating this tribute fantasy card when I stumbled upon this. As Solomon is attributed to saying in Ecclesiastes 1:9, “there is nothing new under the sun,” and apparently someone had already thought the same as me. I would love to give credit where credit is due, but I found this posted by an anonymous Brit on some random ebay forum. Yet whoever created this Robert Redford fantasy Goudey card, they did a commendable job.

3 thoughts on “Robert Redford fantasy Goudey card

  1. Hello. I know I’m almost 4 years late, but I just wanted to say that I am the creator of the card. Something made me search for a Roy Hobbs card online and this came up in the results. I am a HUGE fan of the Natural and I was very underwhelmed with the replica card from the movie. It doesn’t even look vintage. I decided that i HAD TO make my own.
    I used a scanned image of a Goudey Danny MacFayden card and then got the Hobbs image and used Photoshop filters to give it an antique photo feel. Photoshop can be very powerful and very fun if you know how to use it properly.
    The best part here is that I also created the card back as well with appropriate text. If you’d like to see it let me know how to send it to you.
    As for the eBay post, I do remember that I posted it in an eBay forum a few years ago.
    BTW…my name is Scott and I am from Swansea, MA.
    Thanks for posting this. It almost gives me a feeling of celebrity. Very cool.

  2. (don’t know if this posted the first time)
    Hello. I know I’m almost 4 years late, but I just wanted to say that I am the creator of the card. Something made me search for a Roy Hobbs card online and this came up in the results. I am a HUGE fan of the Natural and I was very underwhelmed with the replica card from the movie. It doesn’t even look vintage. I decided that i HAD TO make my own.
    I used a scanned image of a Goudey Danny MacFayden card and then got the Hobbs image and used Photoshop filters to give it an antique photo feel. Photoshop can be very powerful and very fun if you know how to use it properly.
    The best part here is that I also created the card back as well with appropriate text. If you’d like to see it let me know how to send it to you.
    As for the eBay post, I do remember that I posted it in an eBay forum a few years ago.
    BTW…my name is Scott and I am from Swansea, MA.
    Thanks for posting this. It almost gives me a feeling of celebrity. Very cool.

    • Great to hear from you, Scott–and thanks for commenting on this! I still think it’s a wonderful tribute card. Also, strangely enough, I just finished watching The Natural again, probably for the first time in years since I wrote that old post. Take care!

Leave a Reply

