Hey, Freddie! Sacrifice fly = RBI!

Once the rainy weather finally permitted the Atlanta Braves and Philadelphia Phillies to play on Wednesday night (8/14/13), the Braves were really on a run in the second inning. With little regard to the poor Phillies who got down in an early hole of 0-5, Braves first baseman Freddie Freeman dismally returned to the dugout after hitting a rather commendable sacrifice fly. Sure, it was a grand slam only barely missed, but Freeman seemed downright glum afterwards–even needing “consoling,” as the commentators indicated. Someone should remind Freddie that a sacrifice fly still earns the batter an RBI, as stated in the official rulebook of Major League Baseball on page 92, in rule 10.04:

The official scorer shall credit the batter with a run batted in for every run that scores

(1) unaided by an error and as part of a play begun by the batter’s safe hit (including the batter’s home run), sacrifice bunt, sacrifice fly, infield out or fielder’s choice. . . . [emphasis added]

(By the way: you, too, can download and have your very own copy of the official MLB rulebook.)

2011 Topps Gypsy Queen, Freddie Freeman

Image courtesy of COMC.com.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s